Mystery

The Ruin by Dervla McTiernan

ruin

Let’s get the summary of the book from GoodReads first:

It’s been twenty years since Cormac Reilly discovered the body of Hilaria Blake in her crumbling Georgian home. But he’s never forgotten the two children she left behind…

When Aisling Conroy’s boyfriend Jack is found in the freezing black waters of the river Corrib, the police tell her it was suicide. A surgical resident, she throws herself into study and work, trying to forget – until Jack’s sister Maude shows up. Maude suspects foul play, and she is determined to prove it.

DI Cormac Reilly is the detective assigned with the re-investigation of an ‘accidental’ overdose twenty years ago – of Jack and Maude’s drug- and alcohol-addled mother. Cormac is under increasing pressure to charge Maude for murder when his colleague Danny uncovers a piece of evidence that will change everything…

This unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can’t – or won’t. Perfect for fans of Tana French and Jane Casey.

For starters I honestly think McTiernan did a fabulous job given that The Ruin was first novel. It is a well written story that makes you experience rainy Irish Galway. I timed reading the book in line with St. Patrick’s day and I must admit it was a pretty atmospheric read. 🙂

The story is predominantly told from three perspectives:

Cormac Reilly, a maverick detective struggling to settle in his new role after his transfer from Dublin to Galway.

Aisling Conroy, a hard-working medical professional, whose life turned into a nightmare just after St Patrick’s day

Maude Blake, a long-lost sister who is back in Ireland and who also wants some answers.

I am a little tired of stories of corrupted police and maverick detectives having to trust no one a few chosen ones to find truth. The fact that the story centred a lot around police’s politics was not my thing but some may enjoy that. I personally would prefer more of the crime / character development.

Unfortunately I could not connect or relate to those characters. It could have been me. I personally wanted to engage more with the characters and know more of them. There were many hints on things in the past that slightly frustrated me and again, I felt I wanted to have slightly clearer picture rather than second guessing.

With that said, it was still an alright story to read and I finished the book. There was a lot going on, the pace was fairly fast, the language was ‘to the point’, several cases got intertwined and a few twists took place.

Potential triggers: domestic abuse, child abuse

** I received an ARC from Little, Brown Book Group in exchange for an honest review. Thank you for the opportunity **

Verdict: Hot Beverage on Apple Hot Beverage on Apple Hot Beverage on Apple 3/5

6 thoughts on “The Ruin by Dervla McTiernan”

  1. oh, not bad! i got this from NG but keep postponing it…
    just recently finished a book with police characters who are fed up/ depressed/ bosses are against them/etc…. so might be a good idea to not jump into another one
    great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s